benedict xvi final audienceAt his final General Audience on 27 February 2013, the Holy Father spoke about what his “life in retirement” will be like.  He said:

“’Always’ is also ‘forever’–there is no return to private life. My decision to renounce the active exercise of the ministry does not revoke this. I am not returning to private life, to a life of trips, meetings, receptions, conferences, etc. I am not abandoning the cross, but am remaining beside the Crucified Lord in a new way. I no longer bear the power of the office for the governance of the Church, but I remain in the service of prayer, within St. Peter’s paddock, so to speak. St. Benedict, whose name I bear as Pope, will be a great example to me in this. He has shown us the way for a life that, active or passive, belongs wholly to God’s work.”

“I also thank each and every one of you for the respect and understanding with which you have received this important decision. I will continue to accompany the Church’s journey through prayer and reflection, with the dedication to the Lord and His Bride that I have tried to live every day up to now and that I want to always live. I ask you to remember me to God, and above all to pray for the Cardinals who are called to such an important task, and for the new Successor of the Apostle Peter. Many the Lord accompany him with the light and strength of His Spirit.”

“We call upon the maternal intercession of Mary, the Mother of God and of the Church, that she might accompany each of us and the entire ecclesial community. We entrust ourselves to her with deep confidence.”

Benedict XVI we will miss youAt any Masses celebrated after 6am Friday morning (Brisbane time) we will no longer hear Benedict’s name in the Eucharistic Prayer.

The Church has been mightily blessed by Joseph Ratzinger’s acceptance and excercise of the Petrine ministry since he was elected successor of Saint Peter in 2005.  May God now bless him as he enters his monastic life of prayer and penance for the Church.