Not long after I arrived in Ottawa in 2010, I made the Cathedral “my parish” and before long started helping with Masses there [and in case any of my canon law buddies read this, I do realise that my “real” parish is Canadian Martyrs!  I’ll try to get that question right on the comps!].

I visited a few parishes when I first got here, but some of the things that drew me back to Notre Dame were its beauty, the fact that the Liturgy was celebrated “without fuss,” and that the organ music was superb.  Not to mention the fact that my offer to assist on the roster was readily taken up.  Among many things, I am certainly going to miss Jennifer Loveless’ organ music.  The Mass is not a concert and she doesn’t treat it as one, but you certainly get concert-quality music at every Mass – it’s a real treat – and certainly helps me lift up my heart to the Lord in praise!

Fr Paul McKeown OSM – the Rector – and the parishioners and other clergy that I’ve got to know have made me very welcome, and I’ve enjoyed my time ministering there.

Here are some of the Saturday 4.15pm gang in the sacristy before yesterday’s Mass:

PB240004

Thank you to everyone at Notre Dame!