Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe, La Crosse, Wisconsin

This morning I head to the airport to journey to Wisconsin for a canon law conference at the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe in La CrosseRaymond Leo Cardinal Burke [Prefect of the Apostolic Signatura], Bishop Salvatore Cordileone [newly appointed Archbishop of San Francisco], Dr. Kurt Martens, and Mr. William Daniel will speak on such timely topics as: Religious Liberty, Nullity of Marriage Process, Suppression/Mergers of Parishes, and much more.  It’ll also be great to see some of my confreres again after our “summer” break.

Inside the Church at Mepkin Abbey, South Carolina

On  Friday morning I continue the journey to South Carolina.  For the rest of the month I will be staying with the Cistercians at Mepkin Abbey.  I’m very much looking forward to a monastic month, and by the end of it, I should be able to tell you a whole lot more about growing mushrooms (part of the income-producing work of the Mepkin community).  I was, once-upon-a-time, a Cistercian postulant and novice, and I have a great love of the Benedictine Rule and the way of life based on it.  I find that it’s always a great blessing to be able to spend time in a monastery, and am eagerly awaiting arriving there on Friday.  If you could say a prayer that it’s a good retreat I’d be most appreciative, and I’ll be praying for you too.

I am unlikely to have much (or any) internet access until I return to Ottawa in the first week of September for the resumption of classes – my final semester here in Ottawa.