Today is Pentecost Sunday, and with it begins the Year of Grace which has been called by the Australian bishops.  The brochure that was handed out at Masses in Brisbane this weekend says that the Year of Grace is

A holy time, given by God, to start afresh from Christ;  to contemplate his face and listen to God’s Word, that Jesus may heal our wounds, overcome all our divisions, and make us rich in hope, so that we may show forth his face and speak God’s saving Word to the world in new ways.

The local Brisbane Archdiocesan website for the Year of Grace can be found here.  There is also a Facebook group.

The Year of Grace in Australia will overlap with the Year of Faith, an international Year called for by Pope Benedict beginning in October on the anniversary of the opening of the Second Vatican Council, but I don’t think that will matter much as both Years will have a similar goal: renewal of faith in Jesus Christ.

Click here to go to the National Year of Grace Prayer – perhaps you could say it when you make your morning offering, or as part of grace before the evening meal?

In other news … (including the suggestion, or two)

I haven’t had much chance for blogging of late!  I am half-way through my tribunal and chancery practicum, so that keeps me occupied for most of the week.

I did get slightly excited when I saw an announcement in the Archdiocesan Clergy Bulletin announcing that the Archdiocese was going to take up the new social media.  Because I read the notice in a hurry I assumed that meant Facebook.   However, when I read the notice more carefully later, it seems we haven’t gone that far yet.  But, for those of you who use Twitter, who can follow the Archdiocese of Brisbane at https://twitter.com/BneArchdiocese  Hopefully the Archdiocese might join the rest of us on Facebook soon!

But it did get me thinking … what would be really excellent, in my humble opinion, is if Archbishop Coleridge took up blogging!   Since he is already showing himself to be a very “hands on” leader, a blog would give all of us direct and constant contact with his thoughts and activities.

The excellent Archbishop of Ottawa, Terrence Prendergast SJ, maintains a very informative blog (The Journey of a Bishop) complete with pictures detailing his many pastoral and other engagements in the Archdiocese of Ottawa, in Canada, and internationally.  I’m not sure how he finds the time to do it, but he is certainly setting a good example of what is possible.