When we had to choose topics for the research paper which accounts for 25% of the mark of our JCL programme (the Licentiate in Canon Law), I eventually decided that I wanted to write something to honour Blessed John Paul II.  At the time of commencing the project it was the year of his beatification.

As supreme legislator of the Church, looking at John Paul II’s canonical contributions is a vast topic.  For the purposes of the paper, my topic was narrowed to a consideration of his canonical contributions through the lens of three of his Apostolic Constitutions associated with the promulgation of the 1983 Code of Canon Law for the Latin Church, the 1990 Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches, and his reform of the Roman Curia.  Since my lens was his own Apostolic Constitutions, the paper could be subtitled, “Blessed John Paul II’s canonical contributions in his own words.”

My paper is in the final stages of production now, and my supervising professor has given the green light for submission.

Anyone interested can have a look at the current version of the draft here: Seminar Paper – Adrian Sharp (pdf 2012 03 12) [UPDATE: Since originally posting this, I’ve corrected a number of typographical errors.  The link currently showing is the revised edition].

+