I was always impressed with a parish in Melbourne that had secured space in a large shopping mall and created a chapel where Mass was offered.  I’m not sure if it’s still happening as I can’t find any reference online (perhaps if you know you might leave a comment below).  It always struck me as the modern equivalent of the church being there in the village square, where everyone is.

I would love to do something similar when the opportunity arises.  Wouldn’t it be great to have a shopfront where people from the parish could be in attendance to answer questions and provide information;  where Catholic literature could be available;  and ultimately where links could be made with people – including many Catholics – who would rarely, if ever, cross the threshold of the parish property proper.

I was interested, therefore to see this article: Italian bishops propose evangelizing in shopping malls.  This would be a great initiative to foster as we consider the new evangelization.