In this Year of Grace here in Australia, I can certainly say that I’ve had a grace-filled weekend.  Being a priest currently “appointed to further studies,” I don’t have a particular parish that I am attached to, so while I’m home for the North American “summer break,” I have a bit more freedom to attend things I might not normally be able to attend.  [I'm starting to wonder if this is what retirement is like?!  (Any thoughts on that Mum?!!)  Anyway, thoughts of retirement will be a distant memory in six months time, I'm sure!]

On Saturday (30 June 2012) I was very pleased to be able to join in the celebration of the Diamond Wedding Anniversary Mass for John and Maria Rego of Indooroopilly Parish.  The principal celebrant of the Mass was their son, Father Michael.  John and Maria’s other children led the music and proclaimed the readings, and their grandchildren read the Prayer fo the Faithful.  Holy Family Church was filled with family, friends and well-wishers for this joyous celebration.

The sanctuary of Holy Family Church, Indooroopilly, Brisbane, Australia

The Rego family have been parishioners of Holy Family Parish since coming to Australia many years ago.  I hope someone got a picture of Mr and Mrs Rego (especially Mr Rego) when the Papal Blessing was read out and presented to them at the conclusion of Mass – his smile said it all.  Both have been quite ill, but everyone was delighted that they made it to their special anniversary day.  I’m sure all present will remember the joy on their faces as they walked down the aisle together at the end of Mass on Saturday to the strains of the familiar “Wedding March.”  It was also very moving to see the happy couple in the hall after Mass, enjoying the moment of being surrounded by their children, grandchildren, and extended family.  Thank you, Mr & Mrs Rego, for your faithful witness to married love over the sixty years of your life together.   [Some other photos that I took on Saturday can be seen here].

Corpus Christi Church, Nundah, Brisbane, Australia

This morning (Sunday 1 July 2012) I joined the celebration of Mass at Corpus Christi Church, Nundah.   I joked with the Parish Priest that I came because I heard that there was “a new preacher in town.”   That was literally true, because a newly ordained priest, Father David Nugent, is currently giving a series of missions, retreats, and talks in Brisbane, Toowoomba, and in other parts of Australia.  Father David (an Irishman, based in France) is a Missionary of the Most Holy Eucharist.  This group – a public clerical association founded in 2007 – has as its charism the promotion of perpetual eucharistic adoration in parishes and dioceses.  Father David will be doing exactly that during his time among us.  Find our more about him here and about the mission programme here.  Don’t miss this opportunity, in this Year of Grace, to find out what blessings eucharistic adoration can bring you and your family.  [A couple more photos from today here].